Sonar 2 and Gigasampler

williamconifer

Greetings, I am have Sonar 2 xl and Gigasampler 160 running on Win2k with a Terratec EWX2496 sound card. The card has GIS drivers for Gigasampler that allows multithread with other drivers.

2 questions:

1.) How do you set up midi between sonar and Giga for both to work? (be specific, I am new to midi so dumb it down. hehe). I can put giga samples in channel 1 and 2 of Port 1 and I can assign a midi track in Sonar to the Giga ports and either channels. However I only get a response from Giga in Port 1/Channel 1. Not channel 2.

2.) Above I mentioned "response" in Giga. I mean I see the voice count increase and the Channel VU meter move but no Sound. No sound in Sonar either. How can I get audio from both Sonar and Giga?

Thanks folks
jack

Go to options midi devices and make sure the nemesis driver is enabled.
Make sure sonar is listed as the sequencer in your gigastudio settings page.

You must always open gigastudio first the click the notes on staff icon on the toolbar which will launch Sonar.
Pick a midi track and scroll down the output bar,you should see a nemesis midi out.
select the channel you have loaded your gigasample to.
The input should be the channel the controller/keyboard is transmitting.
Record away!!

I have GS32 AND I LOVE IT!

Check this place out if you have'nt already,

http://www.worrasplace.com

Jack

From your description, I suspect the problem is within Gigastudio itself. Remember that Giga has its own integral mixer and the audio routing must be set up to go through that mixer and come out the other end to your soundcard. It sounds like the second channel is getting lost in between.