Sometimes it feels like a clip, sometimes it don't

guttadaj

I have this one place in the song I'm working on now that sometimes clips and sometimes doesn't. When I go to replay that part, I rewind several measures before the spot just in case effects tails from way back are adding to the mix. I have a limiter on the Master bus, so it's really confusing. And it's always in the same spot, so it's not like some background process is kicking on at random times and screwing things up. Anybody have any idea why this is happening?

Thanks,
-Jeff

What are you using to judge the fact that it is clipping? The red light?

I suspect the accuracy of the light is not all it could be. Do your ears tell you it is clipping?

If the clip is occuring on the Master Bus, it is probably due to one of your tracks. Try putting a volume envelope on the most likely culprit and see if that helps.

Thanks for the response, dachay!

I'm using the red clip indicator light and the peak hold number on the Master Bus. Sometimes it hits up to 0.5 and other times it can come in as low as -0.8 on this same part. :confused:

There is a pretty nasty percussive in the main vocal track at that time, which is really the only thing that I thought could have been causing it. Every thing else there is pretty tame. I didn't do the volume envelope thing, but I did select the offending transient and compressed the hell out of it, but the odd behavior persists.