Something Different

Kevlar

Well long story short I haven't "made music" in two years and part of that being i was in school finishing my degree the other part HIp hop has been oversaturated and I was sick of it. I was playing this random cd at work and one of my old songs was on it and people were like "whos this" I was like "me" and they didn't belive me at first but they became believers when i recieted it. So now i'm back to start my other passion (my first being food i'm a chef if u couldn't put it together) but i wanted to get an honest critique on one of my songs seeing as HR has many honest and very helpful people. So here it is and trust me anything u say won't hurt my feelings I love what i do i just want to see if others like what i do as much as I do.

LInk http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=142182

the song is the third one down and it's titled " forgot About you" if u listen to the story u will understand it more and the concepts i'm playing on.

I will review other peoples aswell please post links okay guys? thanks

peace,

Kevlar

You'll have to accept, from the outset, that I'm no hip hop/rap fan. Grandmaster Flash's 1st big single was about as far as I managed to get into.
This is well made, your voice, meter, diction, are all great. The backing's pretty good too.
I must say that the early & frequent use of swearing puts me off listening too close. Yeah, I know. I'm not into censorship per se. I just refer people to what is situationally appropriate. Obscenities are almost a given in your genre, but not exclusively so. I resorted to such myself but I left that sort of language behind consciously when I was 14. I realized that I was stunting my ability to communicate clearly & concisely by resorting to easy, brutal & eventually ineffectual coarseness.
If you've managed to read this far, you're obviously pretty much able to accept another point of view, thanks. I'll finish with congratulations on a top piece of work.

rayc said: