Some Newbie Songs - Feedback Requested

wblake

Hi everyone, I've lurked a little bit and gotten a lot of advice out of these forums but am mostly a complete newbie here and this is my first post.

I have been doing some songwriting and would love to get some constructive criticism if possible. So far only some family & friends have heard my stuff.

If you are so inclined and could please give a listen... I have 4 songs here, all 4 are just me & guitar and pretty rough just to get the song structure together so the recording quality is not great but the focus of these tracks is primarily on songwriting.

In addition, for two of the songs, I have the beginnings of putting together more complete multi tracks, but these are by no means totally together either, just more fully formed 'sonic ideas' at this point.

So I'm looking for constructive criticism of the songs themselves for all 4 ("Live Demo" tracks), plus constructive criticism of the recording / mixing techniques for the 2 dated tracks.

My tracks are on last.fm. My "band" is called "Listless Existence" and the "album" is called "Too Cheap To Meter."

Apologies if this is not the correct forum for this or not the correct way to share songs - please let me know if so and I'll correct it.

Thank you and I look forward to your feedback.

Links....

This probably should be in the Songwriter's Forum, but post actual links, not directions, and you might get some feedback...

What is it you want feedback on? The recording? The playing? The songs themselves? THe singing? All of the above?

Sleep Tight (Live Demo):

It is what it is.

Sleep Tight (2010-11-06):

I felt that I could get into the song if the recording was a little better.

The drums have a nice presence to them, but they're way out front. The singer should be out front.

I think this song needs a crunchier guitar sound. The flanged guitar is too smooth.

Have you done any room treatment?

OK - re-read the requirements