Solstice - Folk Song

Freddy

I've not been on here for a while, but have been writing. This is the latest one I am working on. I have had some feedback. The general view is that "panoply" is a bad word :)

I'd be grateful for any input on the lyrics or on the recording, though.. I'm pretty new to recording and it's an uphill struggle!

The song is about a celebration of the summer equinox I attended as a young hippy, and about change and renewal.

If you would like to hear it, it's here .. www.magnoliahouse.info/Solstice.html

Solstice

We stayed awake all night to watch the sparking of the day,
Saw darkness softly fading into lighter shades of grey.
Stonehenge stood before us as the first touch of the sun
Eased the chill and whispered that our new lives had begun.
And even though I was only seventeen,
Some magic in the solstice seemed to wash my spirit clean,
And every breath I took I was breathing life anew.
There was magic in that solstice as the sun was breaking through.

Our backs were to the embers. We were facing the unknown.
We may have been together, but we faced it all alone.
Struck dumb, we watched the sun disperse the mist across the plain
And swore our lives would never, ever be the same again.
And even though we were only seventeen,
And thought we’d shared a vision that the ancients must have seen,
A panoply of futures came streaming from the blue,
With magic in the choices and the chances to renew.

When life is not worth living
And I’m prompted to complain,
When I feel my spirit
Can no longer take the strain,
When I can’t see the sun because
I’m blinded by the rain,
That solstice seems to find me
It reaches out to find me
And I’m seventeen
Again.

I was changed forever more than thirty years ago.
I never lost the wonder of the boy of who stood alone,
Enraptured by a sunrise and the beauty of the stones.
There’s magic in each sunrise and it feels like coming home.

When life is not worth living
And I’m prompted to complain,
When I feel my spirit