solo boosts

dumass

hey, i use a carvin mts 3200, and i would like to buy a pedal that would be good for solo boosts and soloing. i can then use my amp only for rhythm parts where less gain is needed. i was considering the boss ds-1...any opinions?

i also have a stupid question...while i do use the solo boost, would i have my amp on the clean or the distortion channel? i've never used any pedals before, so i'm unfamiliar with this.

also, my footswitch for the amp has a switch for reverb/effects. if i leave the pedal turned on, and then hit the effects switch, will it turn on and off with every hit? (given that i put the ds-1 through my effects loop...or should i run it through the guitar to the amp...?)

If you're not trying to add more distortion, you might consider a compressor. You can use it to add sustain and volume without extra distortion, that will muddy up your lead. Run compression and distortion petals between the guitar and amp, not in the efx loop.

thats the thing...i am trying to add more distortion, because if i got a pedal, then i would the amps distortion jus for rhythm...when less dst is needed...that way i can also limit the feedback. but when i use the ds-1 on my amp, will i have to use it in the clean channel or the lead channel?

I never found the magic solo boost. I tried a straight volume pedal, various distortion with varying results.

The main problem is if you are already running distorted, much of the boost get's soaked up by the amp. Throwing distortion onto a gain channel can produce sounds that are cool, but too complex to use all the time, and again, some of the boost get's compressed by the amp. Not really sure how healthy it is to drive an amp really hard either.

I'd say a compressor is the best "stomp" for the job. You can add some boost and also dial in some tones that are more typical of lead passages.