So what's a real soundcard look like?

gaffa

Recalcitrant Member
Ok,

So consumer sound cards are ones like SoundBlasters etc, prosumer cards are things like the gadgetlabs, event, lynxone etc.

So my question is - what are the professional cards? Do they exist, or are we talking about Apogee A/D converters etc?

- gaffa

I always thought that they were big and had a lot of buttons and said, like, ampex or Mci or something on the side....

xoxox

Well, I don't know Ed - hence the question. Does the field consist of the consumer and prosumer cards only?

- gaffa

okokok.. Ed does this for money. He uses his soundcard for its intended purpose and makes a living with it, right? Thus, by definition, the Lynx one is a Professional card.

how bout that?

I was just thinking about this in relation to video editing on machines. In that arena (and I'm not an expert, so it's entirely possible I'm speaking through my arse here), there seems to be cheap $100 cards (consumer), cards around the $500-$3000 mark (prosumer), and the hardcore systems like Avid and Media 100.

I guess that the ProTools setups would be professional, but if Ed used a Soundblaster card to record, that still wouldn't make the SB card a professional card (probably be a reflection on Ed more than the card, I guess)

- gaffa

I suppose you can start calling a soundcard "professional" it is operates at +4 with balanced inputs.

From there, you would need to consider the s/n ratio specs, and possibly how well it deals with jitter.

Also, for a soundcard to be truely pro, it would need to pass a null test. Go to www.digido.com to learn what that is all about.

The Lynx card has work clock I/O, two midi I/O ports, AES/EBU and S/PDIF digital I/O, as well as +4 or -10 operating levels on XLR connectors. It is full duplex (most cards are now a days), and has extremely low latency, especially low latancy for midi too.