So here's my $520 Beginner Studio...Feedback Appreciated

neffi7

i am new to recording and am just about to buy my first equipment to begin working. so here's what i have

Sennheiser HD280 Pro Headphones - $120
M-Audio Audiophile 2496 Sound Card - $100
M-Audio DMP3 Preamps - $180
MXL 3000 Condenser Mic - $120

i have a Dell Pentium 4, 1GB Ram that i will solely use for recording...and yes i don;t have monitors in my budget as of yet....but they will come in soon..i plan to use the headphones for mixing (i know i'm crazy for this) plus my roommate already complains about my music with ordinary pc speakers...so i might as well learn more with this until i get a place on my own...i have a few books to help me get started on this as well and 1 of them recommended the Sennheiser HD280 Pro Headphones is very tolerable for mixing.

anyways , u guys pls let me know what u think of these setting to begin with or any adjustments i can make with my budget...thanks

Last edited:
i personally would suggest getting an interface vs. a sound card and a pre.

but many around here like the dmp3.

you can get an interface with a preamp/phantom pwer for less than a sound card and the dmp3.

just my thoughts though

Have you chosen a DAW yet? If not, try out REAPER. Easy software to use thats cheap after the 30 day trial. It would be good for you, assuming your just going to be doing analog work.

i personally would suggest getting an interface vs. a sound card and a pre.

but many around here like the dmp3.

you can get an interface with a preamp/phantom pwer for less than a sound card and the dmp3.

just my thoughts though
You can but separate gives a lot more flexability. You can upgrade one part at a time, and if one part breaks, the other parts fine. Also, you're more likely to get better quality, imo.

Looks good to me. :) Can't comment on the microphone as I've never used it. But I own the DMP3 and 2496 and they are both capable of making great-sounding recordings.