So dumb question. Dynamic Mics and Phantom Powering.

GrooveBassman

OK I'm looking into doing my bands demo. I've got some decent mics. (decent in the minds of mere mortals that is). Everything I've got now is dynamic. I really want to take the next step and get some condensors. But here is the problem. My board a cheapy yamaha mx 12/4 only allows me to switch the phantom on all channels. The information I've got has been conflicting. I've been told phantom won't hurt the dynamic mics. And I've been told don't do it cause it'll fry them. So wich is right? And ok someone tell what is the ultimate entry level condensor for drums over head. budget being in the 300 range. Sorry i know this is a dumb question but I'm just a newbie.

Well,

I've never fried an SM57 while using phantom power on before. We had a board that had a phantom power switch on the back, and never knew it. It was on for like 2 years, and it had about 5 57's and a 58 plugged into it. I'm not saying do it, by any means, someone else will give you that answer, probably Harvey, but I'm just saying it didnt affect our mics in any noticable way.
For cheapies, check out the Oktava, and the Marshall small condensor.
Peace,
Paul

Thanx

Yeah Right now I've got a bunch of 57's a couple of 58's and a D112. I'm debating on getting the condensors next or going for the senheiser tom mics next. But since i'm moving and my disposable income is is tied up I've got plenty of time to think on it.

Most mics use a transformer as the output to the board preamp. A transformer won't pass DC. That's how phantom power works; they put +48 volts DC on pin 2 and 3 (relative to ground), and then the transformer stops it from going any further. But now they have that voltage at the mic and they can tap off of it to power the capsule and the electronics. Can it hurt a dynamic mic? Yes under a couple of conditions.