snare mic - will I notice a difference?

MrKwik

**will man ho for gear**
Right now I have a cheapo Superlux drum mic kit and a Shure PG52 kick mic. All I use is 2 overheads, kick and snare. I see that everybody pretty much likes the 57 as a snare mic and I was thinking about picking one up. My question though is this....being that Im a total beginner, my drum room (aka garage) is less than ideal and my gear is not top shelf either, will I actually be able to hear a difference that would make it worth upgrading the snare mic?

Maybe not right away.

But as you gradually upgrade your setup, you'll start getting incremental improvements with each new piece of gear, and in time, you'll have noticeably better recordings, overall, with better gear. Getting a 57 is a pretty decent place to start.

MrKwik said:
Right now I have a cheapo Superlux drum mic kit and a Shure PG52 kick mic. All I use is 2 overheads, kick and snare. I see that everybody pretty much likes the 57 as a snare mic and I was thinking about picking one up. My question though is this....being that Im a total beginner, my drum room (aka garage) is less than ideal and my gear is not top shelf either, will I actually be able to hear a difference that would make it worth upgrading the snare mic?
Most people do... so most likely you will too. By the way, my favorite snare mic is the Beyer M201. ;)

I don't know what your financial situation is like. If things are lean for you, I'd have to ask myself if I'm getting the most out of what I already have. Have you experimented to the point you feel that the mics are your weakest link?