Snare Drums

Bdrum

I'm courious of the different snares that people like.
I prefer wood.
My friend is looking into the new Pearl 20 ply.....Now thats insane. :p
I've played on a copper freefloater and loved it. :cool:

I have a few snares, I'd have better ones but can't afford them. lol.

Pearl Elx (wood) 14x15.5 its a nice snare, can be tuned quite low for a big deep sound.

Premier 2002 (metal) reeeealy nice old school drum, i have it tuned high for an amazing crack!

Also a Mapex Black Panther (metal) which is my standerd snare which is suited for all styles, i really like it, soft enough for jazz but still got a nice solid sound.

The 20ply snare by pearl, thats the new referance snare right? It looked amazing, i haven't had a chance to try it out yet.

hm... I havent gotten the chance to play many snares, so I'm not too experienced. But I really like the Melody Master snare that Tama makes... I might not like Mike Portnoy, but his snare drum is really good. But the Sonor Vintage snare and the Paiste Spirit of 2002 snare both look really cool.

This may be a little off subject but, we've got a wooden KD snare and several different sized metal drums and...we also have a Premier HTS marching band snare. Lately I've been experimenting with mixing the lower pitched wooden snare with triggered samples of the marching snare....mix them together. Getting some killer "bark-n-thwack" sounds.

I have a Premier Heavy Rock Nine that is a 9 inch deep brass and maple shell snare. It is really cool. For a more pedestrian sound, I use my Pearl 8 inch deep maple free floater. I also have a chrome-o-wood Ludwig from the 70's that has a cool smack to it.

drummerdude666 said:
I have a few snares, I'd have better ones but can't afford them. lol.

Pearl Elx (wood) 14x15.5 its a nice snare, can be tuned quite low for a big deep sound.

Premier 2002 (metal) reeeealy nice old school drum, i have it tuned high for an amazing crack!