snare crap

theD1CKENS

*insert clever title here
I'm sure there's more than a few threads, but I kinda wanted a consolidated(and more recently updated) reference.

It's my first time tracking drums, and it's a PITA!!! there's so much going on. I think I'll learn plenty on my own messing with the rest of the kit, but the SNARE is killing me.

due to the space between the snare/hat/1st tom(to some degree), I'm getting a lot of bleed in the snare mic. so much, in fact, it's unusable. I've experimented with mic placement, gating, and expanders, and I'm stumped.

I'm limited on places I can put the mic(sm57 knockoff). if the cable isn't resting on the hat, the mic is in the line of fire, or the stand is in the way, or the null points are all kinds of useless or...whatever. I'm limited there.

as far as gating or expanding, it sounds like crap. maybe I'm just not using them right, but the hat is still there during the attack of the snare, even if only for a split second, and it gives the hat a kind of accent on every snare hit. also not pretty.

since sampling the snare isn't an option, I'll probably just rent a woodchipper and go all Fargo on the drums

i feel like bleed isnt a huge deal, most of the time. I agree about gating, I dont think its very helpful. When recording drums i had a similar problem on the kick and an enveloper helped bring out the kick. perhaps the same would work for snare. Why isnt sampling an option, cant you sample your own snare drum for a realistic sound and then use some sort of audio to midi device on the snare?

can't(won't) sample the snare cuz it takes FOREVER! there's no point and click on my recorder. using a 'studio-in-a-box' KorgD3200. it takes too long for my tastes, and if it gets tracked well, I don't have to deal with it

:o

yup...what're some options for isolating the snare?