SM7 for female rhyming and singing??

Chaotic

Im tracking a female vocalist this weekend. She raps and sings, her voice is similar to Esthero. I normally record male hip hop vocals and the SM7 works great for that. I was wondering if anyone had experience using the SM7 on female vocals, or if I should pick up a Studio Projects C1 before the session. I plan on buying the C1 eventually anyway, but cash is limited this week, so I want to know if its necessary. Its my first time working with her, so I want to leave a good first impression and send her home with a nice sounding track.

Which works great? My question is can I get away with using the SM7 for female rapping and singing. When she rhymes its very laid back, kinda like Ladybug from Digable Planets, and when she sings its subtle and sultry, like Esthero, not loud and dynamic like an R&B/Soul singer. So Im not sure if a dynamic mic will get the job done.

Get the C1, it should work out fine. There are other mics in this range, but you asked only about C1 vs. SM7.

Chaotic said:
My question is can I get away with using the SM7 for female rapping and singing . . . So Im not sure if a dynamic mic will get the job done.

Make it work, son!

If you can't, then you should probably consider another profession or hobby. :D

I'm just kiddin' with you.

Obviously, no one can tell without being there and hearing her on the mic. The good thing is that I generally think of the SM-7 as always sounding at least acceptable on just about any voice or any style. It's a fairly safe choice.

Rev E said:
Get the C1, it should work out fine. There are other mics in this range, but you asked only about C1 vs. SM7.