sm57 pop filter?

Azza666

hi all,

i just bought a shure sm57 for a general sort of mic.

i've got a friend who wants to record some vocals and was wondering if anyone can recommend some sort of pop filter?

i'm not an expert on this but from what i've seen you can get ones that are like a screen and attach to the mic stand and other ones appear to go over the actual head of the mic itself

does anyone know what the difference is (sound wise) and if there are there any advantages / disadvantages?

or perhaps there is some sort of VST that can cater for this?

any help or advice would be much appreciated!

many thanks in advance :)

cheers

For studio use get a Popper Stopper or similar goose-neck mount nylon mesh type. You can use them to give a singer a reference for how far to stay from the mic, and they work better than the foam style.

The foam type are more for live use. They are somewhat effective for windy conditions.

For studio use get a Popper Stopper or similar goose-neck mount nylon mesh type. You can use them to give a singer a reference for how far to stay from the mic, and they work better than the foam style.

The foam type are more for live use. They are somewhat effective for windy conditions.

True and the wind screen encapsulates the whole head of the mic where as the pop filter leaves the mic open and more natural. :cool:

You can buy a windscreen for a SM57, "Shure A2WS Locking Windscreen" for sale here, but shop around.

A SM57 with the A2WS would look like a smaller SM7.

Cheers
Alan.

funny fact. The SM58 is an SM57 plus a windscreen, all the guts are exactly the same.

The transformers are slightly different, one has a few extra secondary windings although I forget which. I don't own them anyway so I can't test myself . . .

Just cheated, it's the SM57 with the extra windings, for an extra 0.14dB output :drunk: