sm57 and bass cab

blipndub

Hey all,

Trying to get a decent bass sound (who isn't right?).

Using a SM57 on my bass combo (1X12) the amp is tilted against the wall about 35 degrees and now i have the 57 aimed at the center or a little left of center at about a six degree angle from the floor there's probably a 65 degree angle between grill cloth and the mic. But I'm still not getting a good loud signal even with moderate volumes. Do i just need to crack the amp, or is there a better mic placement?

Mic placement is a dark art and I'm just learning something about it so forgive my ignorance.

Thanks

the closer the better(most times) but you cound try compression and even eq. or like you said just crank up the amp!

the sm57 is'nt really made for bass amps. mosty, guitar amps,snares,toms,ect,ect, i wound get a better mic(for the bass cab) i heard about a trick where you record bass on 2 tracks. one you record the bass trough a direct box. and on the 2 track you record the bass by micing the cab(for low-end.) try that recording the bass on 2 tracks simultaneously. i use a shure beta 52 for my kick drum and bass guitar and it does the job!

good luck,

zeke

I have been playing around with direct and mic and that's usually the ticket, for some reason tho I'm getting good sound out of my "live rig" and i wanted to grab it!

It's Am St Jazz with SD Antiquities into a Boss eq pedal with gain boosted and mids pumped into a (shudder) Fender BXR 60. A noteably shitty amp.

I've got the mic right up on the grill cloth. I'm finding through experiment that louder is better, i just need to roll off some of the lows as the volume goes up. But I"m still missing something. The 57 range is like *I* right?
* I *
*I*
I

:D I'm not sure about those I's. But yea, the 57 has a natural bass rolloff to it that I'm not sure would be ideal for getting all the really low lows.

Your best bet would be to swap the 57 for whatever it is you're using on the kick drum.