Slate Digital - 'Fresh Air'

mjbphotos

Slate offers this 'Exciter' free (you need either an iLok, or set up a free iLok cloud account). I'm impressed with what this does to my overall sound, but noticed that when I put it on a self-mastered track, I get some peaks in the red now, so have to reduce any volume boost on the track ( I have a master limiter turned down to barely make a change before the exciter.)
Any tips on how/when to use an exciter like this? Better to use it on my mix's master channel, then master (separately) after?

Great plugins but: Have you had any issues with Slate stuff scheduling or attempting authorizations/verifications/communication with the Slate server (i.e., not via iLok and independent of it)? I got unauthorized communication/connection notifications from Norton and not just when instantiating the plugin.

Paj
8^?

You can't put anything after the master limiter, that will almost always push the level into the red. Any exciter will add level.

I like that 'Fresh Air' plug. Gotta be gentile with it though. I have only used it on individual tracks that need a bit of luster. Acoustic guitar and drum overheads mostly.

I would definitely place it before your mastering limiter tho.

Thanks about the tip to put it before the ML

Great plugins but: Have you had any issues with Slate stuff scheduling or attempting authorizations/verifications/communication with the Slate server (i.e., not via iLok and independent of it)? I got unauthorized communication/connection notifications from Norton and not just when instantiating the plugin.

Paj
8^?
NO, no such issues. Turn off your Norton anti-virus?

m: