silly question

mustardeer

sorry i'm still a newbie.

i got a Samson SX1200 amp and an EV ND767A mic.
Can i plug it in without a mixer? I've tried and i get no sound.
The Amp is correctly connected to a pair of working speakers.

I also have a DMP3 preamp laying around, would it make a difference? Logic tells me no.

The signal level coming straight out of the mic will be too low for the amplifier's inputs. Use your DMP3 (to serve the same purpose as the preamps in a mixer) to amplify the signal up to line level (what the amplifier is looking for), then you should be fine.

I think...

Physically, yes you can hook it up and it won't hurt anything. But, technically speaking, you should not.

Due to the ohm load and voltage mismatch there may not be enough signal strength to drive the circuitry in the amp. It would be mostly unusable that way. In other words, if you turned up the amp volume to max, the volume would still be very low.

You see, microphones typically put out a very weak signal, almost too weak to be usable. Pre-amps like your DMP3 are designed to boost that signal up to a more healthy range. (Mixers do the same thing.) When the meters on your DMP3 are bouncing between 50% and 100%, then your power amp will become more productive.

The volume knob on your power amp should always be set at max. The volume should be controlled by the preamp or mixer.

oh nice, thanks, i'll try plugging in the DMP3 at the band rehearsal later today, will let you know if it works. Sounds exciting! 'Cause those Mackies are like 300-400 bucks.

While not ideal, you can get impedance adapters for about $20 that allow you to plug a low impedance (XLR type) mic into a high impedance 1/4" jack.

just got back from rehearsal.
amazing sound!! i was very surprised. thank you!
i wonder if i should bring the dmp3 to live gigs at a real venue. probably not.