Shure SM57 giving noise! Tsssssss!!!

Jaticus

Hello everyone.

Im new here as you can tell, and im an artist who wishes to do some home recording. Just to make things easy i'll get straight to the point. I have a problem and that is im getting a hell of alot of white noise/hissing in my recordings. I think its gotten worse recently but its always been slightly there. Its the sort of noise you'd expect to find on a recording thats used a webcam or a built in mic, but this is not the case.
The gear im using is:

Acer Aspire 5610 laptop (mid range quality costing £500/$1000)
Shure SM57 (purchased 1 month ago, using with Shure professonal lead)
Mixcraft 3 (multi layer track recording programme costing £30/$60)
1/4 to 1/8 adapter thing

I dont really know whats wrong. I new to the game so i cant figure out whats wrong. Even in a super queit enviorment the white noise is still a problem, and by this i mean its at a level where im having to using noise reduction software on each layer to make it acceptable. I do have one theory that it could be the 1/4 to 1/8 adapter. The little thing allows me to put the jack into the front line-in socket of my laptop. Its gold plated and everything but whenever i insert it i always here a crackle from the speakers which suggests to me there a problem somewhere there. I dont know. Can anyone suggest anything?

much appreciated
Jaticus

ps. if anyone wants to hear what iv done so far with the gear iv made to songs. myspace.com/theicarusmachine

Hello everyone.

Im new here as you can tell, and im an artist who wishes to do some home recording. I have a problem and that is im getting a hell of alot of white noise/hissing in my recordings. I do have one theory that it could be the 1/4 to 1/8 adapter. The little thing allows me to put the jack into the front line-in socket of my laptop.
The mic should plug into the "mic input", not the "line input".