Should I/Shouldn't I: Akai 4000DS Cheap

p_wats

Hey guys,

I'm very excited to have just joined this forum after years of reading the threads. I'm fairly new to analog recording and have been looking to cut my teeth on a decent reel to reel.

Someone in my neighbourhood is offering me an Akai 4000DS for $30, as they have no tape to test it. I've got a couple reels of old non-English folk music that I said I'd take over to test the functions. He also said the spindles seem bent though.

My main question is if this particular unit will benefit my setup (give me a usable analog fix). I read that it it is a 4-track, 2-channel machine, which I assume means I can only use 2 tracks per side of tape.

I've already got a crazy old 2-track Braun TG-1000 that I'm trying to decide if I should keep or not (see thread here), so I'm trying to figure out if the Akai will suit me better (and I could get some cash for the Braun).

Ideally I'd love something like a Fostex R8 (just lost out on one of those...) or any other decent 4/8 track machine, but I'm still learning.

Do you think the $30 is worth it (assuming the heads are in decent shape and the spindles aren't bad?

Thanks! I'm really looking forward to soaking up all the knowledge of this community!

Last edited:
Akai wouldn't be my first choice, but if it's the only thing available, you might consider it. The bent spindle would be of some concern, depending on how bad off it/they are. It won't necessarily affect the sound directly, but if it can't wind a smooth pack on playback, it could damage the edges of the tape, and affect the tracks.

For $30, it couldn't be too bad though. You could definitely part it out a bit to make some money off it if you decide you don't want it.;)