Should I get a condenser?

rockabilly

...Hey guys. So im trying to get a better recorded vocal sound. Right now I use a sm 58. (I also have a 57, but never have used it for vocals). Ive been reading some books as well as this forum (as i am still kinda new in the gear area) and the general consesus for vocal recording is to get a condenser.

Two questions:

#1 If im recording in my bedroom, will a condenser be a waste of money considering the room is not sound treated studio, or will I still get better vocal recording than what im using?

#2 The book lists some mics like the SP B1, MXL 990, Octava MK319, AT3035.
Ive read through the forum and cant decide because everyone has such various opinions. So, I really dont want to spend more than $100 ( i just bought some good monitors and am about to buy a Gretsch Setzer Hot Rod)...but I think if i had to , i can stretch it to $150.

Which mic would you guys recommend in this price range for rockabilly/rock n roll/jazzy vocals?

Thank so much. You guys have helped me enormously. I dont even think I would of started recording if it wasnt for this board.

Well assuming you have a pre amp with phantom power, I think your absolutely right in the assumption that a condenser would perform great on vocals. I definatly think you will love the results despite the lack of room treatment.

All the mics you listed are pretty great. If you decided to stretch to $150, definatly consider a SP C1, they are interesting in a wild way.

Yup, condensers are wonderful for capturing a vocal performance. Preamp and room treatment are also essential.
Preamp can be had pretty cheap (Rane MS1b, Studio Projects, Audio Buddy, Etc... do a search) and Harvey just did a blurb on room treatment where you construct a portable screen with a "V" made of pvc pipe and moving blanketdraped over it. Place the mic against the blanket (4-6 " I guess) and sing away. This will inhibit room noise.