Should I change platform?

Resoman

I've "dabbled" in recording for the past several years, using a TASCAM 2488 MKII desktop recorder. While the quality of my recordings is acceptable, I get very frustrated with using the 2488 and am considering switching to a computer based DAW. I"m sure there are potentially plenty of frustrations involved in any computer based operation, but I'm hoping that by using a proven piece of software with a large monitor (instead of the 3" one I deal with on the TASCAM), I'll experience less frustration and more productivity.

I'm an acoustic musician and my primary need is for recording demos with small acoustic string bands. I've got a decent collection of microphones, ART Dual Levelar and Dual MP, and a DBX graphic EQ. Perhaps most important, I've got a great room to record in (in my opinion) and I really want to take advantage of my situation.

I'm due to upgrade my computer this year, which would free up my five year old 28" iMac, which is maxed out with 6GB RAM. Is this machine a good candidate for my recording application, assuming I remove all existing software and dedicate it to recording use?

I know that I would need a lot of "stuff", like a proper sound card, more preamps (I assume, since I only have two right now) and, of course, the software, whatever it would be. So, I'm prepared to invest some money in this venture.

I realize that another option is to consider the newer TASCAM portastudios, which are certainly affordable and appear to be somewhat more user-friendly, and they use SC cards for storage, which would be a real plus.

If any forum members have thoughts on my situation, I'd very much appreciate hearing them!

Thanks,

Gary,

Iowa City

How many tracks do you envision per song? Processor speed is the key item for computers. 6G of RAM will do fine.
Most audio interfaces (above the bare bones starter ones) have decent preamps, so don't go buying any more preamps at this point.