Should I be Mastering?

twsknight

Ok, this isn't as stupid a question as it may seem.

I've been doing the whole home recording thing for years now, but with only recently getting a band sorted, and having that creative spark that means you're writing a new song every practice, I'm upping my game and busy recording demos etc.

Now I've always used Cubase. While I'm no expert on the program, I KNOW Cubase, and with the help of this forum most questions I have can be answered.

I always thought when I'd mix a song, got the best from my raw tracks I was done; and I guess I am. But after getting a reccomendation on Youtbe I saw a glimpse of Wavelab as a mastering tool. It seems like it would work really well; just give that little bit extra to the band's songs that help us avoid spending serious money on studios and "professionals"; plus I'm all about DIY.

I've searched through HR.com forums tosee what people are saying, and the usual responses leave me lost.

"X is rubbish, use Y"
"How does your mix sound, if it sounds right, then you don't need X or Y"
You need X and Y you fool, you can do 1, 2 and 3 with X then 4, 5 and 6 with Y. Your song will then sound super-pro-leet-awesome. Money, hookers and drugs will follow. You may burn out, you may fade away; but you're music will live forever; just because you used X and Y!"

Ok, so maybe that's a sllight exagerration, and this is turning into an essay. All I really want to hear is people's opinions on mastering software. Advice on what to look for; free options, cheap options, expensive options. Just anything you think is useful for a person who has only ever used Cubase and been content with that.

My sincerest thanks in advance for all the information I'm sure to receive on this topics.

TL/DR, sorry :D

If it's not a serious CD or whatever: Compress it, EQ it, Limit it, whatever, til you think it sounds the best it can.

If it's serious: Get a real ME to do it.

+1 to Philbagg...