Shock Mount Problem

Cinege42

Hello all,

I am very new to studio microphones, I bought an AKG Perception 220 used, and I bought an AKG SH-100 shock mount new. I am having trouble using the two together...this might seem like a silly problem to most of you, but I've never used one of these by myself, I've always just seen them being used in studio already assembled. I see a thread (screw-thread, spiral...? Don't know which word to use here, I'm not English, nor American :D ) on the shock mount but I don't see one on the mic itself. Am I missing a component here or what?

Thanks in advance! :)

At the microphone, at the bottom where the connector is. Is there a nut that you can unscrew? Then you put the mic in the shock mount and thread the part on the shock mount onto the threads that now show on the microphone.

At the microphone, at the bottom where the connector is. Is there a nut that you can unscrew? Then you put the mic in the shock mount and thread the part on the shock mount onto the threads that now show on the microphone.

On a closer look, there is a thread inside the mic, but still I can't thread it into the shock mount. I can't find anything to unscrew on the bottom of the mic. Everything looks exactly like on pictures and videos (there is a video on youtube named AKG Perception 220 Set-up) I've found on the net, it seems to slide very easily into the mount but I turn the screwing part of the mount and nothing :( I wonder if the mount or the mic has been passed on to me as genuine and it's not...I hope that's not the case.

Thanks for your detailed answer! My mic and shock mount look exactly the same as the ones you just posted pictures of, and yet for some reason I still cannot get them to work together, even with the method you just described! :( I started asking around if anyone in my area has one of either so I can try it with that and see which of the two might be at fault. This just blows...I wanted to try recording with this setup this week...