setup comparison

Steve Tittle

You may have to get yourself a board in order to get the inputs you want. Once you really get into it you'll even find out that 8 inputs aren't enough. The drums alone can burn up at least 8 then you have the rest of the band.

Right on Steve! When will there ever be enough tracks? As soon as you get 8, you need 16. Then 24! It's the eternal struggle of the home recording technician.

Hi, I'm a newbie at this whole digital recording thing. i've spent the last 3 or 4 days doing research and reading posts, and I've come down to 2 possible sound cards I might want.

1. Aark Direct pro 24/96

2. gadgetlabs wave 8/24

I'm trying to decide, since I usually just record by myself, and the aark has more onboard features i would use (real time compression, phantom power etc...) but I have been known to record with bands, and 4 inputs just isn't enough with that.

On the other hand, I like having 8 inputs with the gadgetlabs, and it is about $70 cheaper, but then I have to get a mic preamp and compressor for quality.

In the end, I'm leaning towards the aark direct pro, but I am concerned about trying to record a band with this card. Any suggestions on what I would need to do this or any other comments?

thanks
-stranger233

Don't forget that many of these boards will support multiples in one computer ie. you can put three gadgetlabs 824's inot a computer for a total of 24 ins and outs. I'm not sure is the Aark card does it. The website will say.

- gaffa