Setting up my computer...

Phil

I am in the process of setting up my computer for hard-disk recording and had a few questions I hope some of you pros could shed some light on...

I have an AMD K6-3 400, and was planning on purchasing the Aardvark direct pro 24/96, and according to the tech guys there this card does not need a Pentium chip to run. Does anyone think that I am asking for more problems than it's worth buy not splurging for a new machine or an upgrade? I bought a second dedicated hard-drive for my recording endeavors.

I have had several people offer me various condensed "mega cd's" with a million and one software titles on them. While this is questionably legal, it is tempting. My question is if I can get copies of manuals for Cakewalk or Cubase from anywhere on the web. I am a newbie to all of this and don't want to dive into VST 3.7 or Pro Audio 9 without a manual.
Any insight would be appreciated.
Thanks a bunch,
Phil

The K62 and K63 chips absolutely suck in comparison to the Celeron/PII/PIII (or Athalon) processors available. I had a K6-2 400Mhz and it was a pig compared to my Celeron 400Mhz.

However, you're going to want a good soundcard regardless of your processor. So get the card and see what you think! If that AMD setup doesn't work out too well, then upgrade (keeping the soundcard of course)!

Also, you might also know that recording efficiency is dependant on more than just your processor. You'll need a fast hard drive, ample memory, and the ability to run a relatively fresh installation of Windows (NT4 is preferred...by me anyway).

As far as software goes...most of those 1,000 programs on one CD offers will stick you with 1,000 shareware, demo, and freeware titles. I'd recommend downloading n-Track studio from www.fasoft.com - It's a VERY affordable multitrack recording package. $35 to register and the shareware version is very functional. There are several n-Track users like myself on this board who are more than pleased.