Setting Music Equipment & Mixer Levels?

Phreesoal

Hey Forum!

Ok......just picked up a Yamaha MG12/4 mixing board. I currently have my Roland JD-800 keyboard connected and will soon connect a dual CD player to it (DJ type of CD player). From there, maybe a drum machine and other equipment down the line.

My question is, what should I set my equipment and mixer channel levels to when equipment is connected to a mixing board? I'm new at using this type of mixer but I desire to learn how it works. More importantly, I want to know how not to damage any equipment & mixers because of improper volume level use.

Specifically, I'm looking to know:

-Should I have the levels on all equipment itself set half way, maxed or some other level? (In other words, should I push the master volume all the way up on each piece of equipment, like my keyboard, etc.?)

-What volume levels should I have set on the mixing board channels where my equipment is connected? (I'm just wondering if there's a safe zone or "standard" channel volume setting?)

Thanks in advance........ ;)

Phree

Usually you would set the instrument's volume level to about 80%. For the instructions on how to set your mixer levels please consult your manual. They probably have a step by step guide. If you don't have a manual go to www.Mackie.com and download one of their manuals. They have some great instructions and hook up diagrams and all mixers essentially function the same way.

Hi Tex and thanks for the info!

Like you advised, I've started reading through the Yammy mixer manual and know a bit more now about setting levels.

There were a couple of things mentioned that I didn't understand, but I'll read it again. If I still don't get it, I'll post back on where I'm having a brain fart!!!

Phree