Set-up propsal suggestions

stealth_prod

Set-up Suggestions??

So im not technically a newbie but I still have some questions. Im am in the process of building my project studio in my basement and am still going back and forth on what equipment to buy. I have a $2000 budget and I already own a decent set of monitors, microphone (though could be better), and computer specifically built for this.

I have done a ton of research but I still can't decide on which set up to run with. I am PC based just so you know.

I dont plan on any heavy multi-tracking. The studio is mostly for producing and recording at most 4-6 tracks at a time. All I really need is a good interface that allows both audio and MIDI and a good but budget single or dual channel preamp. Some interfaces come with software but if they dont then I would need it.

The first set-up config I was wondering about is a firewire setup:

M-Audio Project Mix: http://www.zzounds.com/a--2676837/item--MDOPROJECTIO I do like the idea of a control surface to maybe help mixing. I like being hands on instead of mouse work.

M Powered Pro Tools.

M-Audio DMP3 Dual Mic Pre and Direct Box

2nd: PCI based

Echo Layla 3G 8-Channel PCI Audio Interface

Cubase

ART Tube MP Studio V3

Again these are just my ideas. If anyone has any input on these setups please let me know. I dont want to use USB and I dont have a DAW preference so any knowledge on this would be helpful. If I forgot to add anything please ask and I will more then gladly answer. Thank you.

Last edited: