searching for an explanation of phase

erichenryus

OK. I understand what phase is in a mathematical sense (I majored in physics) so I'm not looking for a webster version or anything like that. I'm just looking for some good online information about phase problems, how to hear them, how to avoid them, how to correct them, and....how to understand what the hell i'm looking at with the phase scope.

Specifically, I've been recording acoustic lately with two mics and noticed that it sounds very cool in a headphone sort of way but I also noticed that when I summed the two channels to mono the track disappeared! I think that's a bad thing but it also seems to me that phase difference in two channels also conveys spatial information so what do you do about this and why is it bad that the mono signal cancelled itself?

Anyone have links to anything I can read or have any real knowledge to share on this topic?

yes i did a search and it didn't turn up much that i could sink my teeth into. maybe i missed something?

i actually just did a similar search at recording.org and got a lot more of what i was looking for.

i'm now thinking that a lot of my phase cancellation is due to the fact that i'm using two different preamps for the mics.

The preamps shouldn't make a difference. The main issue is that sound from the same source is hitting two mics at different times. It is this difference in distance and time that causes comb filtering and phase cancellation.

There is a rule called the 3-1 rule that can help minimize phase problems. The distance between a second mic should be at least 3x the distance from the first mic as the first mic is from the sound source.