Scoring documentary, on deadlime, need help please.

nbiehl

Hi,

I'm producing some original music for a documentary. I've been gathering pieces for a home studio for a while, and decided this project was the reason to put it together.

I have some experience with this from radio and TV work and musical performance. I'm familiar with the basics of engineering and mixing, but there are some important gaps in my knowledge I'm hoping to get some advice on.

My main questions:

1. Order of Operations
    I don't know anything about the order of operations for a high quality mix. Do you EQ individual tracks, then mix levels, then arrange stereo field? Do you rough out levels and pans, then EQ for blend and fine tune everything else?​
  2. Stereo Field
    My music is often very layered with multiple instruments popping up for short themes. There is also a lot of instrumental harmony, some of it slow and orchestral for backup, and some of it as the main theme for the cut. I don't even know where to start arranging this stuff in the stereo field.
  3. Mastering
    I don't even know if this is a concern for this project. I'll deliver final mixes as wave files, and they will likely never see an audio CD, so consistent level from track to track is not as critical. Any special considerations I need to take with the final mixes for editing with video?

This is a low budget, local film, and they are not expecting gold from me, but I am very excited (and a little surprised, frankly) about the quality of the songs I've composed, so I want to be able to mix it as well as i can right now.

Normally I'd just search the archives myself (or pick up a book) but this is a time sensitive job with a number of people involved, and any delays on my part could hold up the entire project, so any advice you could give me would be very appreciated.

Thanks!

Additional info

Gear:

Soundcraft 200 console
Delta 66 interface