School me on portable digital recorders

Thurgood

Looking at doing some "field" recording of dialog and monolog in less than ideal settings, offices, hospitals, nursing home, residential settings. I want a high quality device, with multiple sample rates and bit depth. XLR, line in and outs (for possible use of external pre-amp/mic) would like your input on the quaility of the on board mics. Must have stereo capability. USB out. High pass filter would be helpful. I will be editing these on DAW later. Good battery life a plus but must be able to externally power. Oh, Phantom power a must. However, If I find a well reccomneded unit that does not have ph power I would have to use external pre-amp to feed line in to recorder which means more stuff to lug around. Also any thoughts on microphone types (other than on board eg. lavalier type etc. Any help is greatly appreciated. I have looked at the Zoom h4n (i think that is it, it look cool but I have NO experience with portable digital recorders. Have used old school Nagra but that was way back. Budget less than 500.00 less than 350.00 even better. Thanks in advance. Be well all.

Will R. Sevier

The H4n works well for me.

If your environment is really awful, you might consider an over-the-ear headset mic, assuming the people you're recording don't mind it. Because of its proximity, that will probably isolate their sound from background noise better than anything else. Just position it precisely to prevent plosive problems.

For the features you want, and the specified budget, you can't beat the H4n. As far as external mics, I like the discontinued mid side stereo mic SONY ECM-MS957. You can find them if you spook around on ebay a bit. The onboard mics are OK, but the SONY is better. For more serious remote stereo recording, where I can set up a mic stand, I use a pair of AKG C2000B's, which rock. Also discontinued, also still out there.