SB Audigy (don't laugh) to M-Audio410

OK, once you've stopped laughing like my friends alreayd have (hee hee) I've got an issue then a question...

Issue:

I have a PC, PIII, WinXP, more RAM & HD than needed. I had a SB Audigy Card install a few years back on it as my studio just didn't need the extra PC... I just needed a decent consumer card for doing multimedia Apps (I'm a multimedia designer during the day, musician by night).

It's been fine. Any music I needed was done within my studio and then brought over via CD if I needed anything in this PC... although the SPDIF connections were tempting at first (through the Audigy front bay) but I heard differences in sound quality and chose to lift off the CD instead.

OK... as you may know, companies like SB try to let the consumer feel as if he or she can do anything (and that's OK) with their sound... they have all these options from (faux) "Surround" to (simulated) "verbs" and stuff. To the professional, they sound like doggy 'el doo-doo.

The issue that I have set-up here, is that even when I listen to headphones through the jack on the bay, it sounds like a "Vocal Remover" effect has been applied to everything. It's just horrible. I have un-installed everything I can think of... including any SB Audigy "Headquarters" software and SB Sound Font type stuff... etc.

It still sounds bad.

Any suggestions?

The question is that will the M-Audio410 be a sufficient replacement (as I'm getting rid of the ole' SB)?

I will be transferring directly out of my Roland VS-1880, but probably won't be doing much recording on my PC... unless I use something like Acid and need a voice-over or something.

Thanks in advance for your knowlegde!

Chad
www.thelogicmusic.com
www.chadaustin.com