room layout?

IanW-UK

Hi all, I'm pretty new to acoustics and am wondering about my current room layout and If it may be causing problems even before I start treating the room. From what I've read so far symetry, it would seem, is important. Here's my current layout. I use the room for both recording and as a control room.

roomlayout.gif

As you can see the room is pretty small, and because the listening position is on a sofa, everything is quite low. Will that in itself cause problems? It also puts the listening position and the monitors below the bottom of the window. I'm going to move the table to the other side of the room so I can move the sofa more into the middle.

Anyone got any suggestions as to how I could make this better?

Cheers,

Ian...........

Ian,

Your current arrangement is about as bad as it gets for a room that small. Here's how you can fix it:

Put the speakers right in front of the window so they fire the long way into the room - facing right as per your drawing. Put the speakers about 4.5 to 5 feet apart centered on the wall. Then sit about 4 to 5 feet in front of them.

Once this is done you can add bass traps and other acoustic treatment, and be able to have a room that's pretty decent.

--Ethan

Thanks mate, I thought someone might say something like that :(

Could you tell me what the "scientific" reason for not having the monitors pointing at the wall is? I'm very unknowledgeable about such stuff, just curious. I put em like that basically to make more space in the room. I will move them like you say though. I guess I can always move the sofa out of the way whenever I need to get a drum kit in there :).

Cheers, your faq is very informative btw thanks,

Ian........

Go here

http://www.saecollege.de/reference_material/titles/Plans.htm

scroll down to the "Bedroom Studio" drawing - this is more where things should be.