Room EQ Wizard (REM)

Bisson820

Hey guys,

Does anyone know about this kind of thing?

I am interested in it but am worried that changing the EQ of a room with software might be kinda wonky....

any insight?

Thanks,

Tyler

I have no experience with this but I googled it. It looks like a RTA system but with software to EQ your room flat. If this is what it is, I'd be REAL weary of it

Last edited:
Changing the response of a room via EQ is basically impossible. The best you can hope for is to make the speakers less accurate to make up for frequencies the room can't handle for whatever reason.

The way to fix a room is to fix the room.

Changing the response of a room via EQ is basically impossible. The best you can hope for is to make the speakers less accurate to make up for frequencies the room can't handle for whatever reason.

Thanks kinda what i figured

That technology works fairly well for live events, where you must use the room you have, but I agree, it's a band-aid- it's better to heal the wound and address the root cause.

AFA live apps, the best way to use that technology seems to be to have it DETECT the frequencies feeding back, but for the technician to have ultimate control- usually with graphic EQ sliders- over how much EQ'ing is done. The ultimate piece of test equipment is the human ear, so having a quick and easy* way of tweaking the sound is nice to have.

*And trust me, quick and easy is SO nice to have in a live situation.

It's a very effective program for identifying problems with speaker/room systems and distinguishing between what is caused by the speakers and what is caused by the room. What remediation is applied is totally up to the user and so dependent on his skill and experience. It's a powerful tool that can be used intelligently or not. There's nothing about the program that forces you to apply eq to address room issues, in spite of the unfortunate name.

Boulderdash does it again.

Thanks buddy.