Rock Vocal Production - 'scooping' drilling EQ holes?

G-Jay

Hi guys,

I'm fairly new around here, I hope you don't mind this slightly long post from a new member.

I've been recording and mixing music for over 10 years now. I'm slowly but surely improving my mixing skills to the level where I'm mostly happy with what I do and my mixes translate fairly well.

However, I'm not satisfied with my vocal production. I can get a great sounding recording and coax the vocalists to give convincing performances but I feel my mixing skills let me down here.

The music is modern rock and I want to put the vocal INSIDE the track rather than ON it. I hear people talk about drilling EQ holes in the other instruments(especially distorted guitar) or 'scooping' them to make space for the vocal to be strong but not overly loud. I don't really know how to do this and would greatly appreciate any advice or tips on how to make the vocal sit in with the track.

Thanks in advance,

Tony

First, as far as the EQ goes, check out this article for one great EQ technque to clean room for tracks to breathe with each other. I'd use it more on the instrumets and not so much on the vocal itself.

But a second - and maybe even stronger - thing I'd recommend is scooping space not via EQ but rather via actual mixing of the tracks. On an analog console this would mean actually playing fader jockey; in a digital DAW this would mean volume automation (and dynamic use of mute).

It can be hard to get vocals to mix with highly-compressed tracks and not just lay on top of them if you don't make those compressed tracks malleable. In this case that would mean not being afraid to bring certain instrument tracks down 2 or 3dB when the vocals kick in and then (optionally and judiciously) letting them come back up that small amount when the vocals are silent. The overall effect is a constant volume for the mix with the vocals nestled comfortably and filling in those 2-3dB "valleys".