reverb?

bunglebungle

Hi Guys

I am just starting out haveing built up my project studio over the last year or so. Set up is Allen and Heath System8 desk (great eq!), Alesis 8/16 ADAT, Cubase and Logic digital set up, various vocal and instrument mics.

What i'm lacking on is fx. I've been trying to keep everything I do as raw as possible and what little compression/reverberation/ has been off a budget zoom fx rack.

I want to invest in a decent reverb and compressor/gate/limiter. Can you offer any advice on what units are best value, my busget is not huge! the sort of sounds I record is mainly raw sounding lo fi guitar based music.

thanks and its a great community you have here, I've learnt alot reading through.

I use a Lexicon MPX500 ($250.00 om ebay) for effects and I have a few Behringer como/limt/gate and they work great.

there is a free reverb plug in called SIR that some people really like
that uses impulses. check out noisevault.com sometime.
also i like experimenting a lot with natural room spaces and halls and stuff,
and doing crazy things like sending feeds to miced speakers in bathrooms and such eg; soundclick.com/bmanning try "woohoo" song.
ie; i try and do things the old school way like the 50's/60's.
sometimes i get what i want other times fail but its all good fun.
just some ideas to help.
peace.

manning1 said:
there is a free reverb plug in called SIR that some people really like
that uses impulses. check out noisevault.com sometime.
also i like experimenting a lot with natural room spaces and halls and stuff,
and doing crazy things like sending feeds to miced speakers in bathrooms and such eg; soundclick.com/bmanning try "woohoo" song.
ie; i try and do things the old school way like the 50's/60's.
sometimes i get what i want other times fail but its all good fun.
just some ideas to help.
peace.

heh I went through a phase of recording guitar and vocals in the ensuite toilet. Sounded interesting as the room is very small and fully tiled. :)