Remix with keys added...finally

Smokepole

I got so frustrated waiting for help from people that I went out and bought a keyboard Wednesday! This song has a lot of changes thanks to the suggestions.

This is my first attempt with anything keyboard like so give me any advice at all. I just made up chords and stuff to match my guitar. There are so many freakin' sounds on this thing that I'm in awe.

It will record into itself too so I'll get some expansion to my 8-track. I tried to midi it up with my deck but it won't have it. I'm hoping that if I start a tune on the keyboard that maybe it will run the recorder, I don't know. I can only play a little bit at a time so the tracks take forever, but it's better than no keys at all.

Mama Liked It That Way-remix song #4

www.nowhereradio.com/mytunes/singles

Thanks

Joe

What kind of keyboard is this?

Nice tune.

My main suggestion would be to spread things out across the stereo field a little. Sounds kinda like the guitar is sitting on the piano's lap.

On the other hand the hi hat is in left field. A hi hat placed about 20% L or R usually works well for me I think. Keeps it from bunching up with the Esses of the vox, but doesn't say

Hey you son of a bitch, look at me!

Ya know?

I like the vocal, sounds steady enough, but it gets buried by the piano. Spread it out. How about piano at 35% right. And guitar at 35% Left. Kick, Snare, and vocal centered. Cymbals somewhere near the center, but bring them after everything else is in its right place.

Just some thoughts. No science. Great song! Sounds like you mean it.

i would agree.......use the stereo field more.......spread it out......give the different instruments their own space

the drums are real wide but the instruments are all really tight.....the panning sluice suggested would be a start

it's a good song with good sentiments.....actually everything sounds crystal clear....very solid recording

SLuiCe,