Reggae bass

hitman

does anybody have any tips on getting a tight reggae drum and bass mix? aside from getting the Barret Brothers themselves. my bass tracks come out sounding to ROCK for a reggae track. please keep in mind i want to record the bass tight so i don't have to futz with the mix too much after the take.
Hitman

I think you need to go for the "feel" over the sound... reggae bass doesn't sound any different than any other bass. But it's played with a different feel than in rock.
Listen/practice playing along to a few Marley CDs...

Bruce Valeriani
Blue Bear Sound

separation

yes i know about the feel thing (we're ganja smokers down here) I was more refering to separating the kick/stick stroke from the bass frequency. i recorded a bass track (i'm a drummer) with all treble and mids cut off (true to reggae settings. the feel was okay, i just couldn't get the snare stick/kick drop to cut through the bass frequncies. Maybe I just don't know how to play a proper one drop. Or maybe we were so stoned it just sounded good at the time..ha ha. HITMAN.

Ahhh... I see - have you tried the technique of using frequency-dependent ducking to have the kick come thru while the bassline is playing. Sidechain your kick drum to your compressor (which has the bass track going thru it) - set so that the bass gets "ducked" on each kick hit (Not CUT mind you, just a mild level drop (to taste), to allow the kick to shine thru...)

May be what just what you're looking for...

Bruce

i think you gottit

yes thats idea, but won't that cause pumping? you know like on radio voice overs? will that give me a consistent mix. Shouldn't i boost/cut different frequencies?
Hit.

Yeah... been a while since I tried it... here's the details:

bass --> compressor
kick drum --> compressor side chain
Set compressor to fastest attack and release settings.
I mentioned frequency-dependent but actually, this technique doesn't use it - for some reason I thought I had an EQ in the chain as well...