Recording with Cubase AI 5.1 and Yamaha MW10C

Ludolf

Hi all

I'm new to posting on this forum but have been tracking it for quite a while and finally need a bit of help as I'm a relative novice to home recording.

I have recently been given a MW10C as a present and it ships with Cubase AI 5.1. I normally use Sony Acid Pro but as Cubase came with the mixer, I thought I'd start by using the software supplied and try to get that working first. I haven't set up the multi track recording with Sony before either so I thought I'd use the supplied Cubase and get to know that.

I have followed the manual (for AI 4) supplied for set up and have linked the mixer to the computer OK. I am using a spare notebook with windows xp and a built in Realtec sound card to keep the set up discrete from work notebooks etc.

I want to set up multi track recording so that I can record a local band with each port on the mixer mapping to a Audio Track in Cubase. i.e. guitar 1, mike 1, guitar 2 etc simultaneously.

My first problem is that I can't seem to map all of the ports from the mixer to the Audio Tracks in Cubase. The default templates only seem to offer 2 tracks (i.e. accoustic guitar and vocal etc).

I have used this template just to try and get anything working. I've mapped the vst and plugged the guitar into input 1 and managed to record from this input OK. I've then done the same for a second input individually.

My second problem is it seems that when I arm both for recording simultaneously and plug into a single port, I get the same track recorded on both ports. i.e I get two duplicate tracks from the port the guitar is plugged into when I would expect to only get a recording for the one with the guitrar in.

I am wondering is I need other hardware (maybe a better sound card) to be able to map all tracks to inputs from the mixer.

I'd appreciate any advice you all could give. Thanks guys