recording with analog tape, need help ...

thegoonmat

hi,
sorry, i'm a belgium beginner ...
here's my gear : pro tools m powered, m-audio fast track ultra 8R, esi near 5 , mics , and an analog recorder fostex R8
what i'd like to do is recording with my tape recorder and then editing with protools ...
can you tell me how to do that and what gear i need more ??
hope someone can help me ...
thanx !!

Record to the deck and dump it into ProTools.

Trick question...?

Up to 8 mics, up to 8 preamps, deck, 8 outputs to 8 inputs on an interface (with at least 8 inputs), DAW.

hi,
sorry, i'm a belgium beginner ...
here's my gear : pro tools m powered, m-audio fast track ultra 8R, esi near 5 , mics , and an analog recorder fostex R8
what i'd like to do is recording with my tape recorder and then editing with protools ...
can you tell me how to do that and what gear i need more ??
hope someone can help me ...
thanx !!

shiny side up with the tape on the reel.

Not a trick question... How do you get anything to tape without pre-amps?

You need at least 8 pre-amplifiers to get 8 mics on tape. You have pre-amps on your Ultra 8R but there are no direct outputs. You could use the outputs of the M-Audio box but that completely defeats the purpose of going to tape in the first place. I suggest you get a mixer with quality pre-amps. Mixer---> Fostex R8---->M-Audio Box

Mike

thanx mike,
that was my question , does my M audio can be used 2 times ??
as a preamp 1st , and as a convertor in a second time
so for me
mic ->maudio(pre amp)->fostex
then
fostex->M audio (convertor)-> pro tools

could work ??

if i have to buy a mixer, any recomandations ???

thanx for your help !!

Technically, it would work if the outputs on the M-Audio box do not need to be connected to a computer to output sound. I don't think that M-Audio box will output directly from the preamp.