Recording to Laptop

Starcat

Hello, my first real post, so please be gentle. I'm new to recording and currently use a Zoom MR1266, which is a self-contained unit with a hard drive and CD burner (I know, I know, everyone thinks Zoom stuff is crap, but it works for my very amateur attempts and it was comparatively cheap for what it does). Now, however, I find that I would like to gain experience in computer-based recording, primarily to take advantage of the software.

I have Sonic Foundry and Acid Pro to start with, a cheapo Behringer mixer on the way, a pretty good mic (B-1), powered monitiors, headphones, and very good ears (oh, and guitars, basses and keyboards, duh). But, I am currently limited to a laptop platform. It's a 2ghz Dell 8200, plenty of hard drive space, cd burner, etc.

My questions:

1. Given that the laptop soundcard is a Cirrus Logic/Crystal board, 18-bit A/D and 20 bit D/A, and given that the only input is a single line in .5mm jack, is my sound quality really going to be terrible?

2. Is there such an animal as an outboard soundcard, perhaps usb or cardbus, which would provide better sound?

Any other options I should be considering?
Thanks for your help.

Does your laptop have FireWire? If so, check out the Delta 410 FireWire from M-Audio.

If not, then I guess USB would be your only option, which has slower transfer speeds, and you may experience latency problems.

How much RAM do you have? That may make up for the slow USB transfer speeds.

If I'm providing Starcat with misinformation, someone please correct me. :D

Thanks for the reply, Drummer, (hey, remind me to ask you about congas sometime). Yes, the laptop has a firewire port, so maybe that's the right route to take, although that M-audio unit looks pricey. I have found that they make a USB version of the 2496 as well, so we'll see. The laptop has 512mb of RAM.