Recording Rock guitar with Fostex Mr-8

electricdread

This is my first time doing home recordings so please bare with me.
I am trying to record my song with the fostex mr-8. I am using the zoom mrt-3 drum machine. The drum machine sounds great, but the guitar are REAL LOW. On the track level display the drum machine is showing twice as much as the guitar. I have the amp on a chair and mic and mic stand about 4 inches in fron of the amp. I am using a unidirectional mic. I have a sneaking suspicion That the mic is the problem. It is a dynamic that was given to me a a friend. I am asking here, just in case anyone who has had similar problems with the fostex mr-8 may have a solution.
Is it the microphone? Any suggestions?
Thanks

Not TOO loud. But I can hear it over the headphones, so maybe it is a little on the loud side. The trim setting is at '3 o' clock' on the clock face, there are no numbers on the fostex mr-8 there.
Do you have some advise for me?
The guitar tones really sound like crap. Harsh,scratchy, like sand paper.
HELP!

mr8

here is the problem with the mr8 the preamps suck, you want a good recording, you really need to incorporate a mixer into you system, the added gain from the mixers preamps, and the ability to eq the sound(you have none with the mr8) will make the difference, 50.00 behringer mixer has great preamps, plus phantom power if you ever want to use condensor mics,

many people here just buy a preamp and that helps, but you will still have no eq control, the mixer is just as cheap as the stand alone preamps with no eq

ill bet you a stack of cdr's it makes your recording s sound a whole lot better

Thanks for your input dave, can you please explain to me what a pre amp is, what it is used for and suggest a few models that will not tear a hole in my MEAGER budget but will still give me some sort of quality (if those exist!).