Recording real drums with only 1 mic?

alex0203

I'm too broke to go out and get more mics, so would it be a good idea to just use one. All I have is a large diaphragm condenser (AT2020). Can I mic the kick with that condenser or will that ruin the mic?? If I wanna go "all out" I can use two extra dynamic mics that I have lol. What do you guys think?

Oh yeah, i'll be recording onto a Portastudio in my basement.

What other dynamics do you have? It might be a better idea to use one of those for the kick and try something like the "recorder man" method with the other two. You can get a pretty good sound with just 2-3 mics that way.

Well, I have a dynamic Seenheiser E816S, a condenser AT2020 (Audio Technica), and a cheap Peavey dynamic that came with my PA system. What is the recorderman method? Where can I find that at? Sorry, I'm a noob!

Well, I have a dynamic Seenheiser E816S, a condenser AT2020 (Audio Technica), and a cheap Peavey dynamic that came with my PA system. What is the recorderman method? Where can I find that at? Sorry, I'm a noob!

google "recorderman" to find out what it is--it's a fantastic OH technique.

based on what you have, though, i'm not sure that's your answer. my starting point with those limitations would be:

put the e816s on kick, and put the 2020 out as a room mic. you could even try your peavey on snare, but i doubt you'll get particularly usable results. i have one of those cheap handheld peavey dynamics too, and it's been sitting in a zipper pouch for about 10 years.

i can't tell you what the best place for a room mic would be b/c there are too many variables. the best way to find the sweet spot is to just keep moving it around and doing sound checks.

if your room is really bad-sounding, you could even try using the 2020 as a single overhead mic. in fact, that may even be a better starting point than using it as a room mic. i'd definitely try both ways and see which sounds better.

good luck! :)