Recording more than one instrument at a time

Tom OK

Hello:
Well, being a newbie I guess I'm entitled to one stupid question. I've been using Acid Music Studio. I don't bother with loops, I just record my own music. I'm ok with first putting down a drum track then bass or guitar then vocals and that's fine but I can't seem to find any information out there on recording more than one instrument at a time and keeping individual control of them on the computer.

I know I could use a mixer and adjust them that way but the output of the mixer still ends up at a 3.5MM input going to the computer. How do you do a live recording and have each instrument assigned to a separate track?

Thanks for any input.
Tom

Thanks for the reply. So If I use the mixer and have 4 inputs do they show up on the DAW as 4 separate tracks and do I have to use both the mixer and controls on the DAW for levels etc?

To further clarify what Rob says, there are several ways that you can do multichannel recording.

The first and easiest (I think) is with a multitrack recorder such as the Zoom R24 or LiveTrak I20, Tascam DP-24SD, DP-32SD or Model 24 recorders. They are self contained units where you can plug from 8 to 16 mics at a time. They are portable, so they work great for recording live shows, but can also serve as the basis for a home recording setup. In some of these units are also designed to function as the PA mixer in addition to the recorder.

Beyond that you can buy audio interfaces with from 1 to 8 mic preamps, plus many will allow you to add 8 or 16 more mic preamps from an outboard unit. They feed audio to the computer via the USB port. An 8 channel interface will show up as 8 individual tracks in your DAW.

You mention having Acid Studio, so I'm assuming you're familiar with multitracking. What you don't mention is how you get your audio into Acid. USB mic? Audio interface?

I've done analog recording in the past using a mixer and a Teac 4 track. Man am I old!