Recording drums

ManInMotion711

Any tips or tricks anyone may wanna share about recording drums? Mainly how to cut down on the ring out from drums that already have an e-ring, and how would I get a clicky tight bass drum sound with recording

Hey dude...
as to the ringing...I'd probably start at tuning...the batter and the reso.

For click in the kick, what I do is get my kick mic up close to the beater (on the inside of course) and then blend that with my subkick.
A general rule is... the further you pull the mic away, the more boom/oomph. The closer ya get, the more click.

what's your mic setup?

My bass drum mic is going to be a KM212 dynamic cardioid kick drum mic, im actually going out sometime this week and buying a CAD PRO-7 drum mic kit, im a fresh newbie when it comes to recording mostly everything

The key to a great drum sound is ALWAYS the source - the drums, the tuning, and the room. Put new heads on your drums and spend some time tuning them to the best of your ability. Mess with the mic placement as needed too, make sure the mics are capturing the best possible sound out of each drum.

The key to click on the kick drum is, as dogbreath said, putting the mic closer to the batter head. Carve out the low mids HARD and boost a bit in the 2k-4k area in EQ as well. Extra dampening on the batter head and a plastic beater will also add a ton of click. But be careful that you don't add too much click, just add enough so the kick will cut through the mix sufficiently :)

another thought is to google up the "Glyn Johns" and the "Recorderman" techniques for drum miking. Worth the time.
Not sure if Greg mentioned that in his write up (up there /\)... been awhile since I read it.

:drunk:

Well thank you for responding to my joke like asses, and thank you dogbreath and guitarplyr82 for your advice, all very helpful :)

Jesus I guess knowledge and experience really can turn someone into an arrogant prick

So can ignorance and and a lack of experience!