Recording Bluegrass?

tronus

I am new to recording and i want to try to record my cousins bluegrass band. We both understand that we are new to this. We are just trying to learn. Im not sure of the technique at all. I've had experience with recording more rock oriented music, using the "tracking technique." I would like to do it using this way. We also want to consider using only one mic also, and stepping in and out for solos. The bands setup is an electric bass, acoustic guitar, banjo (preamp available), Mandolin (preamp available). What should we use? What is the most painless, and possible, way for us to record?

Equipment available:

Delta 1010lt PCI soundcard (8 ins)

1x Audio Technica AT4040 "soda can" condenser
3x Sure dynamic stick instrument mics (non condenser)
2x MXL 990's "soda can" condenser
4x Sure dynamic mics

So if anyone has any advice at all, feel free to respond.

Last edited:
I would try setting up the MXLs in a quasi ORTF configuration (google). Positition the musicians in an arc. Try the mic capsules about 6" apart with the capsules angled from each other so they kind of point inside the arc of the musicians. Try the mics about 6ft away. If the balance isn't right, adjust the distance from the mics and the relative positions of the players. If it still isn't right, try "spot" micing the quieter instruments with your other mics and adjust their balance in the mix.

Let us know how you get on.