Recording Bass

Sweetnighter

Do you go direct in or do you mic the amp? If you mic the amp, what amp? what mic? how do you position it? what kind of preamp do you use for the mic? compressing? eq? how do you change it up for more treble sound, more bass sound, different styles, etc?

Lots of questions! :D

I DI my bass. You can do it by using a DI box:

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/srs7/fg=42/g=rec/search?c=4644

Most pro studios use a combination of DI and mic on the amp, from what I understand. As far as the amp, if you have a bass amp that you like the tone of, use it. Mics, someone else will have to answer that. I am not a mic expert. I don't think I have a mic that I could use anyhow, so I DI it...

That's what I've read is most effective. I have a DI box (that silver behringer one actually) so i've been pretty content with that. Maybe somebody who mics their amp could chip in? I'm curious about how you do that.

Search the archives for this one, there has been a lot of talk on this. Most people prefer direct. But try both you never know. Also I like to send a line direct and and one to a cab which I use a beta 52 to mic then mix the signals. Any mic that is good on the kick will probably work for bass as well. AKG d112 is a good example as well.
Which amp depends on which tone you want so its up to you. If you are recording into digital and have access to software EQs and Comps use them instead of recording with them to disk, this approach is way more flexible.
Maybe use a little bit of comp on the way in, especially if the bass player uses fingerpicking, to give you a more even recording.

I DI in all the time through my Grace Design Model 101. It has been by far the best sound I have gotten to date.