Recording bass....stuff...

Lee123

I'm a guitarist so please excuse my bassless knowledge......

Whenever I record a bass track, I use a Bass Pod directly into the soundcard. The sound is ok, bit I would like to combine that sound with a bass amp/cab/combo, but as with most people....not much money to play with.
Have any of you had good results with a cheap/cheaper bass rig? if so, what was your amp/setup...?
Thanks
Lee.

Nobody else seems to be addressing your question, so I'll take a stab at it. It sounds like you are considering dropping some money on an entire bass rig to improve your recorded bass tone, but you're limited to small, cheap bass amps due to budgetary restrictions. I really can't recommend that, dude.

In the first place, if you buy a GOOD bass amp, and mic it, it will sound good, assuming that you have mics that can capture the sound properly AND you have sufficient skill to know how to use the mics. But if you buy a cheap, crappy sounding bass amp (which is what you're going to end up with on a very small budget), then you're going to get a cheap, crappy tone when you record it.

Furthermore, mic'd up bass rigs aren't really used for recording all that often these days, from what I understand. About the only time that experienced recording engineers even bother to mic up an actual bass cabinet is when they have a good sounding bass rig to use (to start with), and even then, they tend to mix it in with a direct sound -- and most of the sound comes from the direct feed -- the mic on the bass amp is just mixed in to give you some of the "flavor" of the bass amp. Many excellent sounding bass tracks these days are recorded exclusively with some type of preamp (or high-end DI) sent direct into the recording desk.