Recording and mixing in pt 10 or 11 and mastering with 8 and better plugins

mscandia

Hello,

I have Pro Tools 8 LE on a 2009 iMac with some great Waves mastering and other plugins. I was told if I update to the latest Mac operating system, the Waves plugins won't work. (I won't be able to upgrade the Waves plugins for various reasons)

If I get a new Mac mini or other new Mac with pro tools 10 or eventually 11, could I record and edit on the new set up (pt 10 or 11) and then use the old PT 8 LE setup on my iMac with the Waves plugins to mix and master the final product?

I'm a student, so I could probably survive on 8 for a long time, but I thought it might be a good idea to keep current on the latest pt versions until I can eventually afford new waves or other mastering plugins that will work with pt 10 or 11. Plus, I hear there are less latency and other issues on the newer pt versions.

Thanks

To be honest, if pro tools 8 does everything you need it to - then don't bother trying to keep up with the latest versions, it's much too costly and only worth doing if you have a steady flow of pro customers with PT10/11 you will need to keep pace with for file exchange.
I upgraded to 10 fairly recently for two reasons, 1) delay compensation 2) track count 3) client compatibility. But then it seems like just a few months later, another new release date is announced.

If you can, stick with 8.

Why can't you use waves plugins in the new version? I don't get it.

By the way, if you do decide to splash out on an upgrade - be aware that PT11 ONLY SUPPORTS AAX PLUGINS.
Any existing RTAS ones you have bought won't work at all until you upgrade them to AAX - usually = $$.

Having said that, if you are working in the industry when you've finished being a student then it's worth thinking about upgrading with a student discount as late as possible - while you are a student.