Recording Acrylic Drums

SuaveRecords

Ninja kick the dam rabbit
Now ive been using acrylic drums for 3 years now and my drum recordings are sounding better and better as i learn more and more... but if i want the best sound i can get, do i REALLY need maple? or can i get it with my acrylic kit?

I've heard a lot of people say that maple is the way to go in the studio. unless you're looking for more attack, then maybe birch. i've always been told that acrylic kits don't really have a place in the studio. as if for some reason they just wont sound good on a recording. true?:confused:

I've heard your drum recordings. If they were done with acrylic drums, they sound great. People say a lot of shit because they read it somewhere, or heard some "expert" declare it.

If someone doesn't know how to tune drums, or puts the wrong heads for the sound they're after, or has no idea about mic placement and, most of all, plays like shit, all the Maple (or birch, or oak, or whatever) isn't going to save them. In a case like that, someone that does know how to get the best sound from their drums will sound better using press-wood.

My drums are thin-shelled fibre-glass (Tempest brand), and I'm very happy with the recordings I get, using only 2 overheads and a kik mic.

I wouldn't worry so mcuh about the wood as I would about the heads, tuning and mic placement. And, most importantly, the PLAYING.

Well it all depends on what kind of sound you are trying to capture. If you want your drums to sound like acrylic drums, I would probably use acrylic drums for recording :p. Really though, my acrylic snare is one of my favorites for recording. Just trust your ears.

It has been my experience that good heads (tuned well) are more important than the materal the shells are made of. Many may argue for the virtues of different materals or brands good heads make any drum sound better. The important thing is... Do you like the way your drums sound?