Recording acoustic guitars

Gaviao

So I'm looking at getting a 2 input usb interface to get my hands dirty with computer based recording. I was wondering about mic choice and mic placement for recording acoustic guitar. Here are the mics that I have:

MXL 992 Large-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone
http://tinyurl.com/yfcm9bs

MXL 993 Condenser Microphones Stereo Pair
http://tinyurl.com/cuh8zy

2 Shure SM57 betas

1 Shure SM58 beta

a couple of random off-brand dynamic mics

Thanks!

I like to do it in M/S like this

msacoustic2.jpg

Above are two M/S setups

I have been recording bluegrass stuff for about 10 years now, so I know the frustrations with trying to get that guitar to sound out of the speakers the way it does to your ears when you are playing it. so many variables can make the it sound different. I used the x/y method for a long time with decent results, then switched to the m/s method, which I prefer. My m/s method employed a shure pm 58 pointed at the 12th fret, and then two condenser mics (I have used the B-1, AT2020 and the MXL 990) one placed to the right and one to the left of this middle mic pointed 90 degrees away from the center. Panning those mics right and left respectively and leaving the middle one centered gives a good stereo pattern. However, for whatever reason, (my mics, my room) i didnt feel like I was getting the full depth of my martin, so I experimented with adding mics in a fan pattern and some other methods. I have finally hit on a solution that works for me. I use the two mics pointing away from one another for the right left, and I have a fishman rare earth humbucking soundhole pickup run through an LR Baggs acoustic preamp for the center. The pickup does a great job of filling in those frequencies that the mics might miss while preserving the acoustic quality of the sound which a pickup can make sound unnatural.